Advertise With Us
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: where to shoot a deer?

Default where to shoot a deer?

Hi Im new to cross bow hunting but not new to Hunting. Most of the videos Ive watched seems that the deer take a long time to die. ive shoot a truck load of deer (reds & Fallow) with a rifle and 90% of them died on the spot.Why do people in the videos shot the deer so low and far back. Will a crossbow bolt penetrate the flat part of the shoulder blade? Experience has taught me this is where you shot if you want the deer to drop on the spot . Also will a crossbow bolt break bone or will it just drill a whole through it.
    I know european hunters always shot behind the shoulder and the deer run before die.Is shooting behind the shouder just to save meet.
    Dont want to start contreversy just want some advice.With new hunters to rifle i always tell them to line up the leg and lift your aim 2/3 up the body.
    My set up does about 245 fps with a 100grain wacem 20" carbon bolt

Well, since an arrow kills by cutting rather than shock, you need to hit where you will get the most blood.
    Either in the lungs or heart is preferable.
    The blades will cut through ribs and smaller bones but not so much the heavier/thicker bones.
    Picking you shot is much more important now.
    Worshipful Master; Dryden #472

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Parker Bushwhacker.
    1.5" 3 blade Rage Slip Cam heads.
    20" Carbon Express Bolts.

Spammers are dealt with harshly!!

Default Old habits die hard